You are here

2019 trucking industry election results declared

01 March 2019

The winners of the 2019 ATA election are Frank Black (Arcidiaco) from Albert Park in South Australia and Angela Welsh from Blaxland East in NSW.

Australian Trucking Association (ATA) returning officer Phil Potterton declared the results of the election today, following a 21 day voting period.

Frank Black (Arcidiaco) was elected as the owner driver representative on the ATA General Council. Angela Welsh was elected as the small fleet representative. They will each have direct input on Council matters and are eligible to join ATA policy committees.

The election took place through an online, secure voting system, with ballot papers issued to registered voters on Thursday 7 February 2019. Voting closed at 5pm AEDT on Thursday 28 February.

123 ballots were cast in the election of the owner-driver representative. 49 ballots were cast in the election of the small fleet operator representative.

“The larger number of registered voters and a higher voter turnout than in any previous ATA election are particularly welcome,” Mr Potterton said.

“I consider that the processes for the ATA’s second online election have operated smoothly, effectively and securely.”

Mr Potterton reviewed the audit trail of votes cast in the poll and released them without any details which would identify voters.

The new representatives will take up their roles at the ATA’s 2019 Annual General Meeting, to be held in Perth on Wednesday 3 April in conjunction with Trucking Australia 2019.

The ATA represents the 50,000 businesses and 211,500 people in the Australian trucking industry.

The election results are below

The audit trail is available here