#### MEDIA RELEASE



25 National Circuit FORREST ACT 2603 Tel: (02) 6253 6900 www.truck.net.au

#### 31 May 2017

#### Finalists announced for 2017 National Trucking Industry Awards

The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) announced today the 2017 finalists for the prestigious National Trucking Industry Awards.

"These awards recognise and honour those in the trucking industry that go above and beyond," ATA CEO Ben Maguire, said.

"I wish to extend my congratulations to these exceptional members of the trucking industry, and I encourage everyone to watch this space as we release more information about their inspiring stories," Mr Maguire said.

The 2017 National Trucking Industry Awards finalists are:

## Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry Award sponsors: BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Trucks

- Roger Pickering, Pickering Transport Group (Swan Hill, VIC)
- Leigh Smart, Formula Chemicals (West Ryde, NSW)
- William Lovatt, Lovatt Transport (Botany,NSW)

# National Training Excellence Award Award sponsor: DECA

- Taylor's Removals and Storage (Toowoomba, QLD)
- De Bruyn's Transport (Burnie, TAS)
- Brown and Hurley (Yatala, QLD)

## National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award sponsor: Cummins South Pacific

- Casey Stewart, Truckline (Hallam, VIC)
- Jacquelene Brotherton, Oxford Logistics Group (Laverton North, VIC)
- Tracie Dickenson, Daryl Dickenson Transport (Archerfield, QLD)

#### National Professional Driver of the Year Award sponsors: BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Trucks

- Malcom McBeath, Gilbert's Transport Services Pty Ltd (Cavan, SA)
- Danial McFee, Gilbert's Transport Services Pty Ltd (Cavan, SA)
- Glenn Munn, Ron Crouch Transport Pty Ltd (Wagga Wagga, NSW)

## TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award Award sponsors: AEI Transport

- Collins Adelaide Transport (Adelaide, SA)
- Hardy's Haulage (Pottsville, NSW)
- Doherty's Transport (Fairy Meadow, NSW)

The awards will be presented at Trucking Australia 2017, which will be held from 21-23 June at the Darwin Convention Centre during the Gala Dinner on the Foundation Sponsors Day.

The Foundation Sponsors Day celebrates and recognises the Foundation Sponsors of the ATA and will take place on June 23, 2017.

The Don Watson Memorial Award will also be presented on the night.

Trucking Australia 2017 is supported by the ATA's Foundation Sponsors: BP, NTI and Volvo Trucks.

It is also sponsored by AEI Transport, Bridgestone, BPW Transpec, CIMC, Cummins, Daimler Truck & Bus, DECA, Land Development Corporation, MaxiTrans, MTData, PACCAR, TMW Systems, and Thermo King.

More information about the National Trucking Industry Awards Register now for Trucking Australia 2017

Media contact: Donna Jeremiah/Karolina Firman 02 6253 6900 / 0417 211 441