MEDIA RELEASE



25 National Circuit FORREST ACT 2603 Tel: (02) 6253 6900 www.truck.net.au

04 December 2015

NOMINATIONS OPEN FOR 2016 NATIONAL TRUCKING INDUSTRY AWARDS

Nominations are now open for the 2016 National Trucking Industry Awards. These prestigious awards acknowledge the achievements of individuals and organisations in all fields of endeavour throughout the road freight transport industry.

The awards now open for nominations are:

- Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry;
- · National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year; and
- National Professional Driver of the Year.

Nominations must be received by Monday 21 March 2016.

The Chief Executive of the Australian Trucking Association, Christopher Melham, said the awards recognised businesses and individuals who had gone above and beyond the requirements of their role to improve their workplace and the industry.

"As an industry, we have a great number of dedicated, passionate people who go the extra mile to make sure Australia's goods are moved in a safe, professional manner," Mr Melham said.

"But despite working long hours and overcoming great challenges, they often don't put themselves forward for reward or recognition.

"The National Trucking Industry Awards are our opportunity to acknowledge the hard work going on behind the scenes in the trucking industry, and give our quiet heroes the credit they deserve.

"There are also great prizes, with an international travel package and cash prizes to be won.

"If you know someone who deserves to be acknowledged for their efforts on behalf of the industry, I urge you to take the time to nominate them at www.truck.net.au/awards."

The awards will be presented on Saturday 25 June on the Gold Coast at a gala dinner sponsored by the ATA's Foundation Sponsors: BP Australia, National Transport Insurance and Volvo Group Australia. The dinner is part of Trucking Australia 2016, the ATA's peak industry event.

The Don Watson Memorial Award and the TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award will also be presented on the night.

To make a nomination, go to www.truck.net.au/awards. For more information about Trucking Australia 2016 or to purchase a ticket for the awards night, go to www.truckingaustralia.com.au.

The details of the awards are attached.

Media contact: Kathleen Horne 02 6253 6900 / 0409 524 120

2016 NATIONAL TRUCKING INDUSTRY AWARDS

Nominations close on 21 March 2016:

Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry Award sponsors: BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Group Australia

This prestigious award acknowledges the commitment of an individual or organisation to improving the trucking industry through their operation or contribution to industry activities. The nominees for this award must be individuals or organisations associated with the Australian trucking industry.

2015 Winner: Heather Jones, Pilbara Heavy Haulage Girls

National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award sponsor: Cummins South Pacific

The National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award recognises the strong professional contribution made by a woman within the trucking industry.

2015 Winner: Julie Russell, RB Russell Transport

National Professional Driver of the Year Award sponsors: BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Group Australia

The National Professional Driver of the Year Award recognises the outstanding performance of a professional truck driver, including driving skill, attitude and contribution to industry improvement. Nominees must be full-time professional employee drivers or truck owner/operators.

2015 Winner: Aaron Busk, Tytec Logistics

Also to be presented at the award ceremony on 25 June:

Don Watson Memorial Award

This award is presented to a person who has given conspicuous service to the Australian trucking industry. The winner is selected from a range of exceptional people who do not need to nominate to be considered.

2015 Winner: Paul 'Harro' Harrison, Paul Harrison Transport

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award Award sponsor: Austbrokers AEI Transport

This award recognises a TruckSafe accredited operator that has implemented and promoted the program in an exceptional fashion. This operator fosters a strong culture of safety in every part of their business.

2015 Winner: Jim Pearson Transport

Presented later in the year:

Craig Roseneder Award for Technical and Maintenance Excellence in the Workshop Award sponsor: Castrol Vecton

The Craig Roseneder Award recognises technical and maintenance excellence in the workshop by an individual. It celebrates the professionalism of the men and women who work behind the scenes in the trucking industry's workshops.

2015 Winner: Damien Allison, De Bruyn's Transport

Castrol Vecton Industry Achievement Award

Award sponsor: Castrol Vecton

This award honours those who have worked to improve the Australian trucking industry's safety, efficiency or productivity. The winner is selected from a range of exceptional people who do not need to nominate to be considered.

2015 Winner: Tim Giles, Diesel Magazine