MEDIA RELEASE



28 February 2014

25 National Circuit FORREST ACT 2603 Tel: (02) 6253 6900 www.truck.net.au

2014 NATIONAL TRUCKING INDUSTRY AWARDS NOMINATIONS NOW OPEN

Nominations are now open for the 2014 National Trucking Industry Awards, including a new training excellence award sponsored by the Driver Education Centre of Australia (DECA).

The Chairman of the Australian Trucking Association, David Simon, said these prestigious awards recognised businesses and individuals who have gone above and beyond the requirements of their role to improve their workplace and the industry.

"The National Trucking Industry Awards allow the industry to salute those who have worked hard, had the brilliant ideas, developed something new or shown exceptional dedication to the industry and their community," Mr Simon said.

"The new National Training Excellence Award will recognise and encourage businesses that use and develop effective programs to minimise risk for their workforce.

"This award will reward excellence in a different safety topic each year. In 2014, it will focus on the critically important issues of truck rollover prevention and appropriate speed for the conditions."

The awards now open for nominations are:

- Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry;
- National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year;
- National Professional Driver of the Year; and
- the new National Training Excellence Award.

Nominations must be received by Monday 28 April 2014.

DECA Director Brendan Tenison-Woods said the National Training Excellence Award would encourage businesses to ensure their drivers had the skills, understanding and attitude required to operate safely in any situation.

"Industry relevant, high quality training is essential to sustainable commercial success. A suite of industry awards isn't complete if it does not recognise the role of training," Mr Tenison-Woods said.

"Rollovers are too common, often tragic and always costly. Both the causes and the solutions relate to training, attitude and the operating environment, such as road conditions, equipment and technology."

The awards will be presented on Saturday 7 June during Trucking Australia 2014 at a gala dinner sponsored by the ATA's Foundation Sponsors: BP Australia, National Transport Insurance and Volvo Group Australia.

The Don Watson Memorial Award and the TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award will also be presented on the night.

To make a nomination, go to <u>www.truck.net.au/awards</u>. The details of the awards are attached.

Media contact:Kathleen Bakon02 6235 6900 / 0409 524 120National Voice of the Australian Trucking Industry

2014 NATIONAL TRUCKING INDUSTRY AWARDS

Nominations close on 28 April 2014:

Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry Award sponsors: BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Group Australia

This prestigious award acknowledges the commitment of an individual or organisation to improving the trucking industry through their operation or contribution to industry activities. The nominees for this award must be individuals or organisations associated with the Australian trucking industry.

2013 Winner: Mike Moylan, Johnstons Transport

National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award sponsor: Cummins South Pacific

The National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award recognises the strong professional contribution made by a woman within the trucking industry.

2013 Winner: Sharon Middleton, Whiteline Transport

National Professional Driver of the Year Award sponsors: BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Group Australia

The National Professional Driver of the Year Award recognises the outstanding performance of a professional truck driver, including driving skill, attitude and contribution to industry improvement. Nominees must be full-time professional employee drivers or truck owner/operators.

2013 Winner: Robert Schalkwyk, EnergyTrans

NEW: National Training Excellence Award

Award sponsor: DECA

The National Training Excellence Award recognises and encourages businesses that use and develop effective programs to minimise risk for their workforce. This award rewards excellence in a different safety topic each year. In 2014, it will focus on the critically important issues of truck rollover prevention and appropriate speed for the conditions.

Also to be presented at the award ceremony on 7 June:

Don Watson Memorial Award

This award is presented to a person who has given conspicuous service to the Australian trucking industry. The winner is selected from a range of exceptional people who do not need to nominate to be considered.

2013 Winner: Simon Skazlic, K&S Freighters

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award Award sponsor: Austbrokers AEI Transport

This award recognises a TruckSafe accredited operator that has implemented and promoted the program in an exceptional fashion. This operator fosters a strong culture of safety in every part of their business.

2013 Winner: De Gunst Transport

Presented later in the year:

Craig Roseneder Award for Technical and Maintenance Excellence in the Workshop Award sponsor: Castrol

The Craig Roseneder Award recognises technical and maintenance excellence in the workshop by an individual. It celebrates the professionalism of the men and women who work behind the scenes in the trucking industry's workshops.

2013 Winner: Wayne Merrick, Boral Logistics

Castrol Vecton Industry Achievement Award

Award sponsor: Castrol Vecton

This award recognises technical innovation and achievement within the Australian trucking industry. A recipient of this award will be a group or individual who has developed and implemented new technologies, designs or procedures to improve the industry's safety, efficiency or productivity.

2013 Winner: Bob Pearson, Pearson's Transport Resource Centre