MEDIA RELEASE



FORREST ACT 2603 Tel: (02) 6253 6900 www.truck.net.au

16 January 2015

FINALISTS ANNOUNCED FOR NATIONAL TRUCKING INDUSTRY AWARDS

The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) has today announced the finalists for the 2015 National Trucking Industry Awards.

ATA Chair Noelene Watson said the awards showcased outstanding people from a broad range of different sectors and backgrounds across the road transport industry.

"The trucking industry provides services to families and businesses right across Australia, and is an essential part of day-to-day life in our country," Mrs Watson said.

"Our award finalists have made exceptional contributions to the industry and the community. Through these awards, we're proud to acknowledge some of the most dedicated and professional individuals and businesses in trucking."

The 2015 National Trucking Industry Awards finalists are:

Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry Award sponsors: BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Trucks

- Kelvin Baxter, Kelvin Baxter Transport (Berrigan, NSW)
- Leigh Smart, Formula Chemicals (West Ryde, NSW)
- **Heather Jones**, Pilbara Heavy Haulage Girls Inc (Karratha, WA)

National Professional Driver of the Year Award sponsors: BP Australia, NTI and Volvo Trucks

- Dwight Emerson, Simon National Carriers (Goodna, QLD)
- **Dave McCarthy**, Toll (Tapping, WA)
- Aaron Busk, Tytec Logistics (Wacol, QLD)

Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award sponsor: Cummins South Pacific

- Heather Jones, Pilbara Heavy Haulage Girls Inc (Karratha, WA)
- Julie Russell, RB Russell Transport (Eagle Farm, QLD)
- Jacquelene Brotherton, Oxford Cold Storage (Laverton, VIC)

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award Award sponsor: Austbrokers AEI Transport

- Jim Pearson Transport (Port Macquarie, NSW)
- Mt Noorat Freighters (Terang, VIC)
- Tanami Transport (Alice Springs, NT)

National Training Excellence Award Award sponsor: Driver Education Centre of Australia (DECA) Theme: Training new entrants to the transport industry

• Members of the Queensland Trucking Association (QLD)

The award winners will be announced on Saturday 21 March at the ATA's 25th Anniversary Gala Dinner in Hobart as part of Trucking Australia 2015, the ATA's national conference. To register for Trucking Australia 2015 or book tickets for the dinner, visit www.truckingaustralia.com.au.

Media contact: Kathleen Horne 02 6253 6900 / 0409 524 120