You are here

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award

The TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award recognises a TruckSafe accredited operator that has implemented and promoted the program in an exceptional fashion. This operator fosters a strong culture of safety in every part of their business.


AEI Transport Insurance Brokers 


TruckSafe is the Australian Trucking Association’s business and risk management system, aimed at improving the safety and professionalism of trucking operators nationwide.

Candidates for this award will be companies selected from among TruckSafe operators that have had an external audit by a TruckSafe auditor in the calendar year before the award is presented. Candidates must be a current member of the TruckSafe program. Some of the things that judges will take into consideration:

  • A measured and documented driver retention improvement
  • Be able to prove it won or retained work contracts because of accreditation or the accreditation system
  • Show measured improvement in LTI or road accidents
  • Demonstrate a reputation for integrity and ethical behaviour in trucking.


The operator must authorise the TruckSafe Industry Accreditation Council to seek other information that will assist in the judging process.

This could include:

  • Employee and customer statements
  • Road authority records
  • Insurance history/benefits


A trophy, media publicity and accolades from the many industry representatives attending the ATA Foundation Sponsors Gala Dinner, where the winner is announced. 

Who was John Kelly?

The award is named in honour of the late John Kelly. John was a passionate safety advocate in the truck insurance field. John was involved in developing TruckSafe as the industry owned safety and business risk accreditation system.

The success of TruckSafe today can be sheeted home to the passion and drive of John Kelly. John also worked to develop Fatigue Management programs for the road freight industry, and he implemented important driver training programs.

Honour Roll: TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award


2023 SeaRoad Logistics Pty Ltd  
2022 A & R Magill Pty Ltd, NSW  
2021 Not awarded  
2020 SRH Milk Haulage, NSW  
2019 Nolan’s Interstate Transport, NSW  
2018 JJ Lawson Transport, NSW  
2017 Collins Adelaide, SA  
2016 Fellows Bulk Transport, NSW  
2015 Jim Pearson Transport, NSW  
2014 Directhaul, NT  
2013 De Gunst Transport, QLD  
2012 Cleary Bros Pty Ltd, NSW  
2011 Divall’s Earthmoving & Bulk Haulage, NSW