You are here

Trucking Australia recognises the industry's finest

27 April 2018

Some of the transport industry’s finest individuals and businesses have been recognised at the ATA’s Trucking Australia 2018 Foundation Sponsors Gala Awards Dinner. 

Proudly sponsored by BP, Volvo and NTI, the dinner commended those who have gone above and beyond to improve their workplace and contribute to the industry. 

The 2018 National Trucking Industry Awards winners are: 

  • Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry – Ross Fraser OAM, Frasers Livestock Transport.
  • National Professional Driver of the Year – Barry Fitzgerald, Boral Logistics
  • National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year - Belinda Polglase, All Purpose Transport
  • National Training Excellence Award - Brown & Hurley 
  • TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award - JJ Lawson Transport

Frances Ross of R & A Ross Transport was named winner of the Don Watson Memorial Award for her conspicuous service to the Australian trucking industry, the first-ever female to receive this award. 

The evening also recognised quick acting Coffs Harbour tow truck driver Deon Atkins as a Bridgestone Bandag Highway Guardian, recognising his efforts in saving a woman’s life in January.

Congratulations to all award winners and finalists. We look forward to seeing you again at Trucking Australia 2019 in Perth.

View the April 27 issue here and subscribe to our newsletter here.