You are here

Bridgestone Bandag Highway Guardian

Printer-friendly version


The Bridgestone Bandag Highway Guardian award honours the great community service of professional truck drivers in performing heroic and selfless acts while carrying out their normal role.

Every one of their stories contributes to bridging the perceived gap between the trucking industry and the broader community. By bringing to light these incidents, the award will contribute to road safety awareness.

Once a Highway Guardian – Always a Highway Guardian

A Bridgestone Bandag Highway Guardian candidate might be brought to the ATA’s attention and acknowledged at any time during the year. This title is not exclusive to one person, but rather will belong to a growing number of drivers over time, if and when incidents occur. No incident is held up against or compared to another. The status of any Highway Guardian will be revered by their peers for all time.

The Honour

Each recipient of the honour will be hosted to the next ATA national event, Trucking Australia, including flights, delegate registration and accommodation. New Highway Guardians will be honoured by the peers at the ATA Foundation Sponsors Gala Dinner.

Highway Guardians will also receive a jacket patch, truck sticker, lapel pin and trophy.

Award Sponsor:



There is no formal nomination process for a Highway Guardian. However, members of the public are encouraged to bring potential Highway Guardian candidates to the ATA’s attention by emailing us via our Contact Form at any time of the year.



Bridgestone Bandag Highway Guardian Award for heroic and selfless acts by a professional driver


2018 Brett Hood McColl’s Transport
2018 Lew Rowe Linfox
2018 George Athanasiou APS/Americold
2018 Deon Atkins North Coast Towing
2017 Darell Wilson SUEZ
2017 Steve Bolton TollGroup
2017 John Fabian Redstar Transport
2016 Garth Hayes  
2016 Renzo Bruschi  
2016  Matthew Mitchell   
2015 Phil Berger Kerin Kay Transport
2015 Greg Camilleri Region Peak
2014 Lou Morunga Patience Bulk Haulage
2014 Brad Morrison Nightingale Transport, QLD


Highway Guardian Award for bravery by a professional driver

2012 Tim Chellas Linfox Linehaul
2011 Michael Munchow Sedl Transport, QLD